As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How this site is paid

Cordless tools · Head to head

DEWALT 20V MAX vs Milwaukee M18: how the two battery systems line up

DEWALT 20V MAX or Milwaukee M18: which battery system should you buy into? Compared on the makers' own statements, with one compact drill kit from each.

At a glance who each one fits

We earn a commission if you buy through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which products are listed or how they are described.

  1. DEWALT 20V MAX compact 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (DCD771C2)

    DEWALT 20V MAX compact 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (DCD771C2)

    DEWALT start: drill, two batteries, charger

    • Platform: DEWALT 20V MAX*
    • Drive or chuck size: 1/2"
    • Speed: 1,500 RPM
  2. Milwaukee M18 compact 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (2606-21CT)

    Milwaukee M18 compact 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (2606-21CT)

    Milwaukee start: drill stated at 500 in-lb*

    • Platform: Milwaukee M18*
    • Drive or chuck size: 1/2"
    • Speed: 1,800 RPM*

Figures are as stated in each product's current Amazon listing; * from the maker's own spec page (see Sources). Yes or No: whether the listing or maker names the feature.

On this page

What we compared and why

  1. What the batteries fit. A battery system is a long commitment. We quote each maker's own compatibility statement rather than summarise it.
  2. The smaller and larger lines beside it. Both makers run a 12-volt class line and a heavier line beside their main one. Whether those share batteries with the main line differs.
  3. Chargers. One charger for every battery you own is simpler than two.
  4. Comparable specs. The two makers publish drill power in different units. We show what each states and do not convert one into the other.

Side by side

ModelPlatformDrive or chuck sizeSpeedMax torqueAmazon link
DEWALT 20V MAX compact 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (DCD771C2)DEWALT 20V MAX*1/2"1,500 RPMNot stated in listingSee on Amazon
Milwaukee M18 compact 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (2606-21CT)Milwaukee M18*1/2"1,800 RPM*42 ft-lb*See on Amazon

Read at this page's build and converted to one unit by us; sources as in the key above. "Not stated in listing": the listing does not give it. "Listing gives two values": it states two, so we show neither.

DEWALT 20V MAX compact 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (DCD771C2)

DEWALT 20V MAX compact 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (DCD771C2)

Who it fits: Starting on DEWALT 20V MAX with a drill, two batteries and a charger in one box, as DEWALT's page lists.

Skip it if: You want a stated torque figure to compare; DEWALT gives this drill's power as 300 unit watts out, not in in-lb or ft-lb.

Milwaukee M18 compact 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (2606-21CT)

Milwaukee M18 compact 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (2606-21CT)

Who it fits: Starting on Milwaukee M18 with a drill whose torque Milwaukee states, 500 in-lb for the 2606 drill.

Skip it if: You want two batteries in the box; the listing for this kit names one battery and a hard case.

The two systems side by side

DEWALT Milwaukee
Main line 20V MAX M18
What the voltage label means Maximum initial voltage; DEWALT's footnote gives 18 V nominal for 20V MAX Named for 18 V
Smaller line 12V MAX (including XTREME) M12
Heavier line 60V MAX, run on FLEXVOLT batteries MX FUEL, a separate equipment line
Main-line batteries in heavier-line tools DEWALT's FLEXVOLT page describes FLEXVOLT batteries running 60V MAX tools; it does not describe 20V MAX batteries doing so Milwaukee lists MX FUEL batteries separately from M18
Heavier-line batteries in main-line tools FLEXVOLT batteries are compatible with 20V MAX tools, per DEWALT Not described
One charger for both smaller and main lines The DCK221F2 kit's included charger is listed as 12V MAX to 20V MAX The 48-59-1812 multi-voltage charger accepts all M18 and M12 batteries

What the makers say about compatibility

Milwaukee answers the compatibility question in its battery FAQ: all M18 batteries are compatible with M18 tools and chargers, and all M12 batteries with M12 tools and chargers. M12 and M18 batteries do not swap between the two lines, but Milwaukee sells a multi-voltage charger that takes both.

DEWALT says on its FLEXVOLT page that FLEXVOLT batteries are compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX power tools and switch voltage automatically when you move them to a 60V MAX tool. That is the bridge between DEWALT's main line and its heavier one, and it runs one way: a FLEXVOLT battery fits both, an ordinary 20V MAX battery is described only for 20V MAX tools. More in DEWALT FLEXVOLT batteries explained.

Why the drill figures do not line up

The table shows what each maker states, and the two do not use the same unit. DEWALT gives the DCD771's power as 300 unit watts out (UWO), its own measure of power at the chuck. Milwaukee gives the 2606 drill's torque as 500 in-lb, which is about 42 ft-lb. There is no published conversion between UWO and in-lb, because one is power and the other torque. So the two drills cannot be ranked from their spec sheets. What can be compared is the speed: DEWALT states two speeds, 0-450 and 0-1,500 RPM, for the DCD771; Milwaukee states 0-400 and 0-1,800 RPM for the 2606. For torque units in general, see torque units explained.

Voltage labels: 20 and 18 are the same class

DEWALT's own footnote explains that "20V MAX" is the maximum initial battery voltage without a load and that the nominal voltage is 18. Milwaukee's M18 is named for 18 volts. So the "20 versus 18" in the names is a labelling difference, not a sign that one battery is stronger.

Which way to go

  • You already own batteries from either: stay with it; both main lines are large.
  • You expect to want heavier tools later (mowers, large saws): DEWALT's FLEXVOLT batteries run both the 20V MAX and 60V MAX lines, which suits a buyer who wants one battery for both.
  • You expect to want many small tools as well: compare the smaller lines (DEWALT 12V MAX, Milwaukee M12); see Milwaukee M12 or M18.
  • Starting from zero: list the next three tools you want and check both makers' sites for them, then compare kits in combo kits compared.

Reading the table

Cells with a mark come from the makers' pages linked under Sources. The Milwaukee torque and speed come from Milwaukee's page for the 2606-20 drill, the tool in this kit; Milwaukee's site no longer lists the 2606-21CT kit itself, so the kit contents come from the listing. DEWALT's page for the DCD771C2 lists two batteries, a charger and a bag.

What this page does not tell you

We have not used these tools and we do not rank the systems. Battery runtime depends on the pack you fit and the job; neither maker's figures say how long a given job takes.

Sources