Cordless tools · Comparison
Cordless drill/driver kits for homeowners compared: chuck, speed, motor and what is in the box
A cordless drill for shelves, curtain rods, furniture and pilot holes. Which drill/driver kit fits a homeowner?
Quick picks who each one fits
We earn a commission if you buy through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which products are listed or how they are described.
-
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2 in. compact drill/driver kit (DCD771C2)
Two batteries in the box; up to 1,500 RPM*
- Platform: DEWALT 20V MAX*
- Drive or chuck size: 1/2"
- Speed: 1,500 RPM*
-
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2 in. compact brushless drill/driver kit (DCD777D1)
Brushless and compact, one 2Ah battery
- Platform: DEWALT 20V MAX*
- Drive or chuck size: 1/2"
- Brushless motor: Yes*
-
CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (CMCD725D2)
Brushless, two batteries, up to 2,000 RPM*
- Platform: CRAFTSMAN V20*
- Drive or chuck size: 1/2"
- Speed: 500 or 2,000 (two speeds)*
-
Milwaukee M18 1/2 in. compact drill/driver kit (2606-21CT)
M18 entry kit, up to 1,800 RPM*
- Platform: Milwaukee M18*
- Drive or chuck size: 1/2"
- Speed: 1,800 RPM*
-
RYOBI ONE+ 18V 3/8 in. drill/driver bundle with battery, charger and holster
ONE+ entry drill for house and garden tools
- Platform: ONE+
- Drive or chuck size: 3/8"
-
BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX drill/driver and 59-piece home tool kit (BDCDD12PK)
12V drill plus a bag of hand tools
- Platform: 12V MAX
Figures are as stated in each product's current Amazon listing; * from the maker's own spec page (see Sources). Yes or No: whether the listing or maker names the feature.
On this page
- Quick picks
- How we define best here
- What we compared and why
- The models compared
- What a homeowner's drill kit needs
- Your job list, matched to a kit
- Battery arithmetic: one battery or two
- Brushed or brushless
- Speed: what the RPM column means
- The 12V kit
- Which one if...
- Reading the table
- What this page does not tell you
How we define best here
On this page, 'best for home use' is not a ranking. It means the kit that fits the household jobs you list and the battery platform you will keep, judged on the criteria above: chuck size, top speed, motor type and what the kit includes.
What we compared and why
- Platform. The kit's battery decides which tools you add later. If you already own batteries for a platform, a kit on another platform starts a second system.
- Chuck size. A 1/2 in. chuck takes larger bits, hole saws and mixing paddles; a 3/8 in. chuck covers ordinary drill and driver bits.
- Top speed (RPM). Higher top speed helps with small holes in wood; the low gear is what drives screws under control. We show the top gear the maker or listing gives.
- Motor type. Makers say a brushless motor gives more runtime than a brushed one. We mark it only where the maker or listing names the motor.
- What is in the box. Number of batteries and the charger matter more than the drill for a first kit: two batteries mean one charges while the other works.
The models compared
| Model | Platform | Drive or chuck size | Speed | Brushless motor | Batteries and charger | Weight | Amazon link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2 in. compact drill/driver kit (DCD771C2) | DEWALT 20V MAX* | 1/2" | 1,500 RPM* | No* | 2 batteries, charger* | 3.6 lb | See on Amazon |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2 in. compact brushless drill/driver kit (DCD777D1) | DEWALT 20V MAX* | 1/2" | Not stated in listing | Yes* | 1 x 2 Ah (DCB203), DCB107 charger, belt hook* | 5.1 lb | See on Amazon |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (CMCD725D2) | CRAFTSMAN V20* | 1/2" | 500 or 2,000 (two speeds)* | Yes* | 2 x 2 Ah (CMCB202), CMCB102 charger* | 6.4 lb | See on Amazon |
| Milwaukee M18 1/2 in. compact drill/driver kit (2606-21CT) | Milwaukee M18* | 1/2" | 1,800 RPM* | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | 6.3 lb | See on Amazon |
| RYOBI ONE+ 18V 3/8 in. drill/driver bundle with battery, charger and holster | ONE+ | 3/8" | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | See on Amazon |
| BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX drill/driver and 59-piece home tool kit (BDCDD12PK) | 12V MAX | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | See on Amazon |
Read at this page's build and converted to one unit by us; sources as in the key above. "Not stated in listing": the listing does not give it. "Listing gives two values": it states two, so we show neither.

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2 in. compact drill/driver kit (DCD771C2)
Who it fits: A first drill with two batteries and a charger in the box, for holes and small to medium screws; DEWALT lists two speeds up to 1,500 RPM.
Skip it if: You want a brushless motor; DEWALT lists this one as brushed.

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2 in. compact brushless drill/driver kit (DCD777D1)
Who it fits: You want DEWALT's compact brushless drill, 7.6 in. front to back per DEWALT, for cabinets and tight spaces.
Skip it if: You want two batteries so one can charge; DEWALT lists one DCB203 2Ah battery in this kit.

CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/2 in. drill/driver kit (CMCD725D2)
Who it fits: Homeowners who want a brushless drill and two batteries in one kit; CRAFTSMAN lists two speeds up to 2,000 RPM and a 1/2 in. ratcheting chuck.
Skip it if: You already own DEWALT or Milwaukee batteries; this starts a V20 system.

Milwaukee M18 1/2 in. compact drill/driver kit (2606-21CT)
Who it fits: You expect to add Milwaukee M18 tools later and want a 1/2 in. drill now; Milwaukee gives up to 1,800 RPM for the drill in this kit.
Skip it if: You want two batteries in the box; check this kit's battery count on the listing before you rely on it.

RYOBI ONE+ 18V 3/8 in. drill/driver bundle with battery, charger and holster
Who it fits: Homeowners who want one battery for household, garden and hobby tools and are fine with a 3/8 in. chuck for everyday holes and screws.
Skip it if: You plan to run larger hole saws; a 3/8 in. chuck limits bit shanks.

BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX drill/driver and 59-piece home tool kit (BDCDD12PK)
Who it fits: A first home toolkit for light jobs (pictures, flat-pack furniture, loose hinges) where the hand tools in the bag matter as much as the drill.
Skip it if: You expect to drill into hardwood or run hole saws often, or to add more cordless tools later; this is a 12V home kit, not part of the larger platforms here.
What a homeowner's drill kit needs
Most household drilling is light: pilot holes, wall plugs, curtain rods, hinges, flat-pack furniture and now and then a hole saw for a lock or a vent. Any of the kits here can do the light end. What separates them for a homeowner is the chuck (can it take the bit you need), the battery count (can one charge while the other works), and the platform (which tools you can add later on the same batteries). Power figures matter less for these jobs than many listings suggest. This page is research-based, from the current listings and the makers' pages; we have not used these kits side by side.
Your job list, matched to a kit
| Job | What it needs | Kits here that fit |
|---|---|---|
| Pictures, shelves, curtain rods with wall plugs | Any chuck, low speed with the clutch | All six |
| Flat-pack furniture and hinges | A clutch you can set low | All six |
| Hole saw for a door lock or vent | A 1/2 in. chuck for larger arbors | DEWALT DCD771C2 and DCD777D1, CRAFTSMAN CMCD725D2, Milwaukee 2606-21CT |
| Long sessions, such as a deck or a run of shelving | Two batteries, or a larger battery | DEWALT DCD771C2, CRAFTSMAN CMCD725D2 (two batteries in the box per their makers) |
| Masonry holes in brick or concrete | A hammer drill, not a drill/driver | None here; see the note below |
| Long deck screws or lag bolts | An impact driver | None here; see drill or impact driver |
None of these is a hammer drill. For holes in brick or concrete you need a drill with a hammer mode, which is a different tool.
Battery arithmetic: one battery or two
A kit with one battery stops when that battery runs out, until it recharges. A kit with two lets you swap and carry on. Using the makers' own figures: the CRAFTSMAN CMCD725D2 has two 2 Ah batteries, 4 Ah in total; the DEWALT DCD777D1 has one 2 Ah battery. On the same job, the CRAFTSMAN box holds about twice the total charge, and one battery can charge while the other works. For a homeowner who drills a few minutes at a time, one battery is usually enough. For a weekend project, two is the difference between finishing and waiting. If you add batteries later, our DEWALT battery sizes page shows the runtime ratios between pack sizes.
Brushed or brushless
DEWALT lists the DCD771C2 as brushed and the DCD777D1 as brushless; CRAFTSMAN lists the CMCD725D2 as brushless. DEWALT's DCD777D1 page says its brushless motor gives more run time than a brushed one. For light household use either motor type does the job; brushless matters more if you drill often or for long sessions.
Speed: what the RPM column means
The RPM column shows the top gear. Most drill/drivers here have two gears: a low one for driving screws and a high one for drilling. Where a maker gives both, the cell shows both, as on the CRAFTSMAN row. A higher top speed helps small drill bits cut cleanly in wood; it does not make the drill better at driving long screws, which is impact driver work.
The 12V kit
The BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX kit is a different kind of purchase: a small drill sold with a bag of hand tools, aimed at a first home toolkit. It covers the first two rows of the job table. If you expect to add a saw, a vacuum or a garden tool on the same battery later, the 20V-class and 18V-class platforms in the rest of the table offer far more tools.
Which one if...
- First drill, light household jobs, two batteries wanted: the DEWALT DCD771C2 or the CRAFTSMAN CMCD725D2 (brushless).
- Tight spaces such as inside cabinets: the DEWALT DCD777D1, compact per DEWALT.
- You plan to add Milwaukee tools later: the Milwaukee 2606-21CT.
- You want garden tools on the same battery: check RYOBI's ONE+ range and the RYOBI bundle; see RYOBI ONE+ vs CRAFTSMAN V20.
- A starter home toolkit with a light drill: the BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX kit.
If you will want an impact driver too, a two-tool kit may fit better; see cordless combo kits compared.
Reading the table
A figure with a mark comes from the maker's page, linked under Sources. Other cells are from the current listing. "Not stated in listing" means the listing gives no figure and we found no maker page for that exact model number. The RYOBI listing is a bundle we could not match to one RYOBI model number, and BLACK+DECKER's site did not answer our request, so those two rows are listing-only. The weight column shows the listing's weight, which may include the battery or the whole kit.
What this page does not tell you
We have not used these drills, and we do not rank them. We do not measure torque, runtime, clutch feel or durability. For pilot hole sizes and wall plugs, follow the fastener maker's instructions.
Sources
- DEWALT 20V MAX compact drill/driver kit DCD771C2 product page (dewalt.com)
- DEWALT 20V MAX compact brushless drill/driver kit DCD777D1 product page (dewalt.com)
- CRAFTSMAN V20 BRUSHLESS RP drill/driver kit CMCD725D2 product page (craftsman.com)
- Milwaukee M18 compact 1/2 in. drill driver 2606-20 product page (milwaukeetool.com)