As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How this site is paid

Car and garage · Head to head

NOCO Boost vs GOOLOO vs Clore: what each jump starter maker actually states

NOCO, GOOLOO or Clore? Set the amp figure aside: here is what each maker states and what it leaves out.

At a glance who each one fits

We earn a commission if you buy through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which products are listed or how they are described.

  1. NOCO Boost GB70 jump starter

    NOCO Boost GB70 jump starter

    NOCO's pack for 8.0 L gas, 6.0 L diesel

    • Brand: NOCO
    • Peak amps: 2,000 A
    • Gas engines up to: 8.0 L
  2. GOOLOO A3 jump starter with air compressor

    GOOLOO A3 jump starter with air compressor

    Largest range of these packs, plus an inflator

    • Brand: GOOLOO
    • Peak amps: 3,000 A
    • Gas engines up to: 9.0 L
  3. Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC325 lithium jump starter

    Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC325 lithium jump starter

    Publishes 450 A* start assist; 24 in.* cables

    • Brand: Clore Automotive
    • Peak amps: 2,000 A
    • Gas engines up to: 8.0 L
  4. Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC660 12 V booster box

    Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC660 12 V booster box

    Booster box: 425 A* cranking, 46 in.* cables

    • Brand: Clore Automotive
    • Peak amps: 1,700 A
    • Weight: 18.0 lb*

Figures are as stated in each product's current Amazon listing; * from the maker's own spec page (see Sources). Yes or No: whether the listing or maker names the feature.

On this page

What we compared and why

  1. Stated engine range. The largest gas and diesel engine each maker states for a model. It is the closest thing to a like-for-like figure across brands.
  2. Which amp figures the maker publishes. Peak amps have no single definition, as Clore itself writes. Clore also publishes start assist or cranking amps; we show who publishes what.
  3. Battery type. Compact lithium packs and traditional booster boxes differ in size and weight. Clore sells both kinds.
  4. What else is in the unit. A tire inflator adds a second job and more size. Cable length and gauge matter to some buyers and are stated by only one of the three.

Side by side

ModelBrandPeak ampsGas engines up toDiesel engines up toStarts per chargeAir compressorWeightAmazon link
NOCO Boost GB70 jump starterNOCO2,000 A8.0 L6.0 L40Not stated in listing5.0 lbSee on Amazon
GOOLOO A3 jump starter with air compressorGOOLOO3,000 A9.0 L6.5 L50+*YesNot stated in listingSee on Amazon
Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC325 lithium jump starterClore Automotive2,000 A8.0 L6.0 LNot stated in listingNot stated in listing4.3 lb*See on Amazon
Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC660 12 V booster boxClore Automotive1,700 ANot stated in listingNot stated in listingNot stated in listingNot stated in listing18.0 lb*See on Amazon

Read at this page's build and converted to one unit by us; sources as in the key above. "Not stated in listing": the listing does not give it. "Listing gives two values": it states two, so we show neither.

NOCO Boost GB70 jump starter

NOCO Boost GB70 jump starter

Who it fits: You want NOCO's name and a compact lithium pack with an engine range of 8.0 L gas and 6.0 L diesel, per its listing.

Skip it if: You want a published cranking or start assist figure; the listing states peak amps only.

GOOLOO A3 jump starter with air compressor

GOOLOO A3 jump starter with air compressor

Who it fits: You want a jump starter and a tire inflator in one unit, and the largest stated engine range of the three packs here: 9.0 L gas and 6.5 L diesel.

Skip it if: You already carry an inflator, or you want a figure beyond peak amps for this exact model; GOOLOO's A3 page leads with peak amps.

Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC325 lithium jump starter

Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC325 lithium jump starter

Who it fits: You want a compact lithium pack from a maker that publishes a start assist figure, 450 A, and states cable length and gauge.

Skip it if: You want the unit weight settled from one source; the listing's item weight is lower than the 4.3 lb Clore states.

Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC660 12 V booster box

Clore Jump-N-Carry JNC660 12 V booster box

Who it fits: A garage or shop box rather than a glove-box pack: Clore states 1,700 peak amps, 425 cranking amps, 46 in. cables and 18 lb.

Skip it if: You want to keep it in the car or carry it easily; at 18 lb it is a different kind of tool.

The brand question, not the size question

If your question is which size fits your engine, start with what size jump starter you need. For pack against booster box across more brands, see portable jump starters compared. This page takes three brands that people weigh against each other and asks what separates them once the size is similar. It is research-based, from the current listings and the makers' pages; we have not jump-started a vehicle with any of these units. NOCO's own site was not readable for this page, so NOCO's row and statements come from its listing.

Same stated range, different paper trail

The NOCO GB70 and the Clore JNC325 state the same engine range, 8 L gas and 6 L diesel, and the same 2,000 A peak figure in their listings. That makes them the cleanest pair here, and it shows that the size figures do not settle a brand choice. The GOOLOO A3 states a step more, 9 L gas and 6.5 L diesel, at 3,000 A peak.

So look at what each maker publishes.

NOCO GB70 GOOLOO A3 Clore JNC325 Clore JNC660
Source we could read Listing Maker page and listing Maker page and listing Maker page and listing
Peak amps 2,000 A 3,000 A 2,000 A (listing) 1,700 A
A second amp figure Not stated Not on the A3's text 450 A start assist 425 A cranking
Battery type Lithium Lithium polymer, per GOOLOO's FAQ Lithium Clore PROFORMER battery
Warranty Named in the listing; check the term on the box Listing gives a shorter term than the "up to 30 months" on GOOLOO's page 1 year limited 1 year limited
Cables "Heavy-duty clamps", no length Smart jumper cable, no length 24 in., #6 AWG 46 in., #2 AWG
Stated weight 5 lb Not stated 4.3 lb on Clore's page; the listing's is lower 18 lb
Other jobs Power bank, light Tire inflator, power bank, light USB, light, 12 V outlet 12 V outlet

Read the starts-per-charge column in the first table with care. NOCO's listing states its 40 as an upper limit, for engines up to its 8.0 L and 6.0 L range, and the 50+ is GOOLOO's own figure for the A3 on its page; neither is measured by a shared method, so 50 against 40 is no ranking. Clore's pages state no such figure for these two.

What separates the brands on paper

Clore publishes the second amp figure. It writes that peak amps have no single meaning, and it publishes a start assist figure for its lithium JNC325 and a cranking figure for the JNC660. Note that those are different ratings: 450 A start assist and 425 A cranking are not directly comparable. Clore explains the terms on its own site.

Clore sells both kinds of unit. The JNC325 is a lithium pack; the JNC660 is an 18 lb box with longer, heavier cables. If you work on vehicles in a garage and do not need to carry it, that is the option the other two brands do not put on this page.

GOOLOO bundles more jobs. The A3 adds a tire inflator rated to 150 PSI by its maker, which is the most obvious difference if you do not already carry an inflator.

NOCO's listing keeps to one job and adds little else. It states engine range, starts and a power bank, with no inflator in this model. Choose it if the name and the compact format are what you want, and read the warranty and range on the box.

One figure with two values

Clore's page gives the JNC325 at 4.3 lb, and the listing's item weight is lower. The table shows the maker's figure. GOOLOO's two warranty terms also differ: the listing's is shorter than the up to 30 months on its page, which may depend on conditions we could not confirm. Check the terms at the point of purchase.

Which one if...

  • You want a second amp figure and stated cable specs: Clore JNC325.
  • You want one unit for jump starts and tires: GOOLOO A3.
  • You want a compact pack and already carry an inflator: NOCO GB70 or Clore JNC325, which state the same range.
  • You want a shop box that stays in the garage: Clore JNC660, noting that Clore's page gives no engine size for it.

A car that keeps needing a jump may have a fault worth reading; see OBD2 scanners for DIYers.

Reading the table

A figure with a mark comes from the maker's page for that model, linked under Sources. Other cells in the first table come from the current listing.

What this page does not tell you

We do not measure starting power, cold-weather performance or how many starts a charge gives, and we do not rank these brands. We make no claim about how any protection feature performs. Before you connect any jump starter, read and follow the maker's instructions and your vehicle maker's instructions for jump starting.

Sources