As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How this site is paid

Carpet and hard-floor cleaners · Which one do I need

Pet accidents on carpet: which machine and which formula, in what order

An accident on the carpet and a machine to clean it. Which formula goes in it, and what do you do first?

Quick picks who each one fits

We earn a commission if you buy through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which products are listed or how they are described.

  1. Shark StainStriker HairPro (PX251), portable

    Shark StainStriker HairPro (PX251), portable

    Two formulas that combine on contact; self-clean

    • Weight: 13.1 lb
    • Self-cleaning: Yes
  2. Shark StainForce (HX101), cordless handheld

    Shark StainForce (HX101), cordless handheld

    Cordless handheld: spray, scrub, extract

    • Power: Cordless
  3. BISSELL Little Green Pet Pro (3909), portable

    BISSELL Little Green Pet Pro (3909), portable

    Portable with a self-cleaning tool

    • Self-cleaning: Yes
  4. Hoover CleanSlate XL (FH15000V), portable

    Hoover CleanSlate XL (FH15000V), portable

    Largest stated tank here, 96 oz*, with a pet tool

    • Weight: 11.0 lb*
    • Tank: 96 oz*
    • Hose: 5.0 ft*
  5. BISSELL ProHeat 2X Revolution Pet Pro Plus (3588F), full-size

    BISSELL ProHeat 2X Revolution Pet Pro Plus (3588F), full-size

    Whole rooms: separate pretreater, 8 ft hose

    • Weight: 17.5 lb
    • Hose: 8.0 ft
  6. Hoover PowerDash Pet Compact (FH50700) with Paws & Claws and Renewal formulas, bundle

Figures are as stated in each product's current Amazon listing; * from the maker's own spec page (see Sources). Yes or No: whether the listing or maker names the feature.

On this page

What we compared and why

  1. The formula the maker names. Each maker names formulas for its own machines. Hoover recommends its own solutions for its carpet cleaners. We report what each listing names.
  2. How the formula is delivered. Some machines mix formula with the water, some spray it on separately, and one uses a separate spray bottle. That changes the steps.
  3. The situation in front of you. A fresh spot, a dried spot and a repeat spot call for different amounts of time and water. We match the machine type to each.
  4. Rinsing the machine afterwards. After a pet mess, the hose and tool hold what you picked up. A self-clean or rinse feature named in the listing takes care of that job.

The models compared

ModelWeightTankHoseSelf-cleaningPowerAmazon link
Shark StainStriker HairPro (PX251), portable13.1 lbNot stated in listingNot stated in listingYesNot stated in listingSee on Amazon
Shark StainForce (HX101), cordless handheldNot stated in listingNot stated in listingNot stated in listingNot stated in listingCordlessSee on Amazon
BISSELL Little Green Pet Pro (3909), portableNot stated in listingNot stated in listingNot stated in listingYesNot stated in listingSee on Amazon
Hoover CleanSlate XL (FH15000V), portable11.0 lb*96 oz*5.0 ft*Not stated in listingNot stated in listingSee on Amazon
BISSELL ProHeat 2X Revolution Pet Pro Plus (3588F), full-size17.5 lbNot stated in listing8.0 ftNot stated in listingNot stated in listingSee on Amazon
Hoover PowerDash Pet Compact (FH50700) with Paws & Claws and Renewal formulas, bundleNot stated in listingNot stated in listingNot stated in listingNot stated in listingNot stated in listingSee on Amazon

Read at this page's build and converted to one unit by us; sources as in the key above. "Not stated in listing": the listing does not give it. "Listing gives two values": it states two, so we show neither.

Shark StainStriker HairPro (PX251), portable

Shark StainStriker HairPro (PX251), portable

Who it fits: Spots and repeat spots, when you want the formula to stay separated until use; the listing describes two formulas that combine on contact, plus a self-clean cycle.

Skip it if: You want a formula you can pick from any shelf; this system uses Shark's own formula pair.

Shark StainForce (HX101), cordless handheld

Shark StainForce (HX101), cordless handheld

Who it fits: A small fresh accident you want to reach in seconds, with no tank to fill and no cord: you spray from its own bottle, scrub, then extract.

Skip it if: You wash a whole room or a large patch; its listing describes it for small stains and messes.

BISSELL Little Green Pet Pro (3909), portable

BISSELL Little Green Pet Pro (3909), portable

Who it fits: Spots and stairs when you want a self-cleaning tool, with a named BISSELL pet formula to use it with.

Skip it if: You want to plan fills by a stated figure; this listing says its tanks are extra large without giving one.

Hoover CleanSlate XL (FH15000V), portable

Hoover CleanSlate XL (FH15000V), portable

Who it fits: Larger patches and several spots in one session; Hoover states 96 oz of clean water, and the listing names a pet tool and a Hoover pet formula.

Skip it if: You need to carry it easily when full; with the tank full it comes to about 17 lb.

BISSELL ProHeat 2X Revolution Pet Pro Plus (3588F), full-size

BISSELL ProHeat 2X Revolution Pet Pro Plus (3588F), full-size

Who it fits: A whole room after repeated accidents; the listing names a separate pretreater with OXY, an 8 ft hose and two formulas in the box.

Skip it if: Most of your messes are single spots; filling and wheeling out an upright for one patch is more work than the job.

Hoover PowerDash Pet Compact (FH50700) with Paws & Claws and Renewal formulas, bundle

Hoover PowerDash Pet Compact (FH50700) with Paws & Claws and Renewal formulas, bundle

Who it fits: Small rooms, if you want machine and formula in one purchase; the listing describes the Paws & Claws formula as using enzymatic cleaning ingredients.

Skip it if: You already own a Hoover carpet cleaner and need only formula; this bundle includes another machine.

Start with what is in front of you

Our pet accidents machine guide answers which size of machine to own. This page answers the next question: with a machine in hand, which formula goes in it and what do you do in what order? It is research-based, from the current listings and makers' pages; we have not used these machines on real accidents, and we make no claim about what any formula removes or how completely.

What you find Machine type that fits Why
A fresh, small wet spot Cordless handheld or small portable It is the one you can reach before the spot spreads or dries
A dried spot you find later Portable with a stain tool You will want time for the formula to sit, then repeat passes in one place
The same spot again and again Portable, or a full-size machine with a hose More water and more passes than a quick clean
A whole room after repeated accidents Full-size upright Fills and area matter more than reach
Stairs, a pet bed, a car seat Portable or handheld with a hose or tool The surface is off the floor

Which formula each listing names

Do not assume a bottle fits any machine. These are the formulas each listing names, or what is in the box.

Machine Formula named in the listing How it is delivered
Shark StainStriker PX251 Deep Clean Pet Formula, OXY Multiplier Formula Two formulas that combine on contact
Shark StainForce HX101 StainForce Dual-Activated Solution Separate spray bottle with two chambers
BISSELL Little Green Pet Pro 3909 PET PRO OXY Spot & Stain formula With the machine
Hoover CleanSlate XL FH15000V Trial oxy solution; Hoover portable spot solutions, including a pet formula With the machine
BISSELL ProHeat 2X 3588F PRO MAX Clean + Protect, Pet Pro Oxy Urine Eliminator Machine, plus CleanShot pretreater
Hoover PowerDash FH50700 bundle Paws & Claws, Renewal With the machine

Two statements from the makers are worth reading closely. Hoover's FAQ says of carpet cleaners, "We recommend that you use Hoover solutions", which it gives as a recommendation and not a ban. Shark's listing ties its odor claim to use as directed with Shark's own solution, so a different formula falls outside that claim. Before you try another brand's formula, read what the machine's manual says about it.

"Enzymatic" appears in the Paws & Claws listing wording, and "OXY" appears in Shark's, BISSELL's and Hoover's. We do not rank them, because we have no measurements to rank them with. If you are choosing on this, read each label for what it says it is for and what surfaces it is not for, and test on a hidden corner of the carpet first if the label says to.

The order the makers describe

The makers' wording differs, but it follows a pattern you can apply to most machines:

  1. Treat the spot. Spray or pretreat with the named formula. BISSELL names a CleanShot pretreater for this on the 3588F; Shark's StainForce listing describes spraying until the spot is soaked.
  2. Give it the time the label gives. Some formula labels state a wait before you extract. The label is the authority, not this page.
  3. Scrub and extract. Shark's HX101 listing sums up the method the same way: soak, scrub, then extract. Use the tool the maker names for stains.
  4. Rinse the machine. The PX251 listing describes an onboard self-clean cycle, the CleanSlate XL listing a hose rinse tool, and the 3909 a self-cleaning tool. Otherwise flush the hose by hand as the manual says.

One listing gives two weights

If you are buying a portable to carry to the mess, note that two Shark listings each give two weights. The PX251's item data, shown in the table, is well above the figure in its own feature text. The HX101 shows the same pattern, and our build treats its item-data figure as implausible for a carpet cleaner, so the table shows no weight for it. The item data may include packaging. Check the box figure.

If you are choosing a machine for this

  1. Accidents are rare, small and found quickly: the Shark StainForce HX101.
  2. Spots are regular, and you also want stairs and furniture: the Shark PX251, the BISSELL 3909 or the Hoover CleanSlate XL. The XL has the only stated tank here.
  3. Repeat spots across a room: the BISSELL ProHeat 2X 3588F or the Hoover PowerDash bundle, with a portable if you can keep one as well. See spot cleaner or carpet cleaner.

For what the tank, hose and heat figures on a spec sheet mean, see the carpet cleaner spec sheet explained.

Reading the table

Figures with a mark come from Hoover's page for the FH15000V, linked under Sources. Other cells come from the current listing. "Not stated in listing" means the listing gives no figure.

What this page does not tell you

We have not used these machines or formulas, and we do not rank them. We make no claim about what any formula removes, whether a spot will return, or whether any product suits your pet, your home or your carpet. Read and follow the label and the maker's manual, and ask your vet about any concern to do with your pet.

Sources