Cordless tools · Which one do I need
Bare tool or kit: decide by what you already own
Bare tool or kit? It depends on the batteries, charger and platform you already own.
Quick picks who each one fits
We earn a commission if you buy through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which products are listed or how they are described.
-
CRAFTSMAN V20 1/2 in. hammer drill, tool only (CMCD726B)
V20 owners: a tool to add, no battery in the box
- Platform: V20
- Sold as: Tool only
- Brushless motor: Yes
-
CRAFTSMAN V20 1/2 in. drill/driver kit with 2 batteries and charger (CMCD725D2)
Starting on V20: 2 x 2 Ah batteries* and a charger
- Platform: CRAFTSMAN V20*
- Sold as: Battery and charger included
- Battery size: 2.0 Ah*
-
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. impact driver, tool only (DCF845B)
20V MAX owners: tool only
- Platform: 20V MAX
- Sold as: Tool only
- Brushless motor: Yes
-
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (DCF787D1)
Starting on 20V MAX: one battery and a charger
- Platform: 20V MAX
- Sold as: Battery and charger included
- Battery size: 2.0 Ah
-
Milwaukee M18 FUEL Sawzall reciprocating saw, tool only (2821-20)
M18 owners: a saw to add
- Platform: M18
- Sold as: Tool only
- Brushless motor: Yes
-
Milwaukee M18 XC5.0 battery and charger kit, no tool (48-59-1850)
No tool: 2 batteries and a charger to start from
- Platform: M18
- Sold as: Battery and charger included
- Battery size: 5.0 Ah
Figures are as stated in each product's current Amazon listing; * from the maker's own spec page (see Sources). Yes or No: whether the listing or maker names the feature.
On this page
What we compared and why
- Whether you own a battery on that platform. A bare tool does nothing without one. Batteries from one maker's system do not fit another's, so a battery you own only helps if it is on the same platform.
- Whether you own a charger for it. A battery without a charger stops the first time it runs down. A kit is one way to get a charger; a battery and charger kit is another.
- How many batteries you use at the same time. One per tool in use, plus one charging if you work long sessions. Count those before you add more.
- The battery size the job needs. A kit battery may be smaller than one you own. It still fits, but it decides whether the kit adds anything you will use.
The models compared
| Model | Platform | Sold as | Battery size | Brushless motor | Amazon link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRAFTSMAN V20 1/2 in. hammer drill, tool only (CMCD726B) | V20 | Tool only | Not stated in listing | Yes | See on Amazon |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 1/2 in. drill/driver kit with 2 batteries and charger (CMCD725D2) | CRAFTSMAN V20* | Battery and charger included | 2.0 Ah* | Yes* | See on Amazon |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. impact driver, tool only (DCF845B) | 20V MAX | Tool only | Not stated in listing | Yes | See on Amazon |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (DCF787D1) | 20V MAX | Battery and charger included | 2.0 Ah | Yes | See on Amazon |
| Milwaukee M18 FUEL Sawzall reciprocating saw, tool only (2821-20) | M18 | Tool only | Not stated in listing | Yes | See on Amazon |
| Milwaukee M18 XC5.0 battery and charger kit, no tool (48-59-1850) | M18 | Battery and charger included | 5.0 Ah | Not stated in listing | See on Amazon |
Read at this page's build and converted to one unit by us; sources as in the key above. "Not stated in listing": the listing does not give it. "Listing gives two values": it states two, so we show neither.

CRAFTSMAN V20 1/2 in. hammer drill, tool only (CMCD726B)
Who it fits: You own V20 batteries and a charger and want to add hammer drilling for masonry to what you have.
Skip it if: You own no V20 battery; this is sold as a tool only.

CRAFTSMAN V20 1/2 in. drill/driver kit with 2 batteries and charger (CMCD725D2)
Who it fits: A first V20 tool: CRAFTSMAN lists two 2.0 Ah batteries, a charger and a bag in the box, so nothing else is needed to start.
Skip it if: You already own two V20 batteries and a charger; this adds more of the same to your shelf.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. impact driver, tool only (DCF845B)
Who it fits: You own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries; you are only adding a driver.
Skip it if: You own CRAFTSMAN V20 or Milwaukee batteries; they are other systems.

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (DCF787D1)
Who it fits: Starting DEWALT with one tool; the title names a battery and charger, and the listing states 2 Ah.
Skip it if: You already own a DEWALT charger and a battery you can spare; a tool-only driver covers it.

Milwaukee M18 FUEL Sawzall reciprocating saw, tool only (2821-20)
Who it fits: You own M18 batteries, ideally a larger one, and want to add a saw.
Skip it if: You own no M18 battery or charger; pair it with a battery and charger kit, or look for a kit.

Milwaukee M18 XC5.0 battery and charger kit, no tool (48-59-1850)
Who it fits: The third option: you want tool-only models, and need a first battery and charger. The listing names two XC5.0 packs and a charger for M12 and M18, and suggests adding any M18 tool-only model.
Skip it if: You already own an M18 charger and a battery; this repeats what you have.
What the two words mean
"Bare tool", or "tool only", means the tool and nothing else: no battery and no charger. A "kit" includes at least one battery and a charger, sometimes more. The tool may also differ, so compare the model numbers as well: the two CRAFTSMAN rows here are different tools, a hammer drill and a drill/driver. This page is research-based, from current listings and makers' pages; we have not used these tools.
So the question is not which one is better. It is what you already have on your shelf, and that can be settled in a few minutes before you look at a listing.
Start here: what you own
| Your shelf, on the platform of the tool you want | Buy |
|---|---|
| No battery and no charger on this platform | A kit |
| No battery and no charger, and you already know the next two tools you want | A two-tool combo kit, or a battery and charger kit plus tool-only models |
| A battery but no working charger | A charger, or a small kit if you also want a second battery |
| A charger and one battery, and you use one tool at a time | A bare tool |
| A charger and one battery, and two tools or two people run at once | A bare tool plus one more battery, or a kit |
| Several batteries and a charger | A bare tool |
| Batteries, but on a different platform | Treat it as the first row, or look for that tool on the platform you own |
The last row is the one that catches people. Batteries do not cross systems: Milwaukee says plainly that its batteries are not interchangeable across power tool systems, and CRAFTSMAN describes its V20 batteries as compatible with V20 tools. Even similar voltage labels from two makers do not mean a fit. Before you start a second platform, see cordless tool platforms compared.
How many batteries do you actually need?
Our rule of thumb, not a maker's figure:
- Count the tools you run at the same time. One person usually means one tool in the hand, even across a job that uses three tools.
- Add one if you work long enough to need a swap. A battery on the charger means you can keep working.
- That total is your target. Past it, more batteries sit on the shelf.
Worked through: one person hanging shelves at home, one drill and one driver, one tool at a time, needs one battery, or two if the session runs long. A combo kit with two batteries already covers that. So the next tool can be bare.
The size of the battery in the kit
A kit battery is often a small one. The DEWALT kit here lists 2 Ah and the CRAFTSMAN kit two 2.0 Ah packs, and tool-only buyers often already own larger ones. A small pack still fits the tool on its platform. What changes is how long it runs and how much it weighs in your hand, so check that against the job. For a heavy tool such as a reciprocating saw, ask whether you own a large enough battery, not just whether you own a battery. See DEWALT battery sizes and Milwaukee M18 batteries explained for how the makers describe sizes.
The third option: battery and charger with no tool
If you want a tool that is sold only bare, or you want to choose your own tools, a battery and charger kit starts you off. The Milwaukee row here is an example: two XC5.0 packs and a charger that the listing says handles M12 and M18, with no tool in the box. It gets you a battery and a charger, and leaves the tool choice open. If you will want a drill and a driver together, compare combo kits first.
How to read a listing
- "Tool only", "bare tool" or "battery sold separately" in the title: no battery or charger. Believe it, and check it again before you order.
- "Kit" alone is not enough. Look for the named contents: how many batteries, what size, which charger. Some "kits" are bundles from a reseller.
- A kit model number and a tool-only model number often differ by a suffix. Here the CMCD725D2 is a kit, while the CMCD726B and the DCF845B, both ending in "B", say tool only in their titles. Do not rely on the suffix alone; read the title.
- "Sold as" in our table shows "Tool only" or "Battery and charger included" when the listing says so. Read the title for the exact contents.
Reading the table
Figures with a mark come from CRAFTSMAN's page for the CMCD725D2, linked under Sources. Other cells come from the current listing. "Not stated in listing" means the listing does not give that figure.
What this page does not tell you
We have not used these tools, and we do not rank them. We do not compare runtime or power, and the battery count above is our rule of thumb. Compatibility statements belong to the makers and can change, so check the maker's page for your exact battery and tool.