As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How this site is paid

Cordless tools · Comparison

Impact drivers compared by torque, speed and weight

You need an impact driver. Which one fits your jobs and the batteries you own, and how far should torque decide it?

Quick picks who each one fits

We earn a commission if you buy through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which products are listed or how they are described.

  1. DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. three-speed high-torque impact driver (DCF860B)

    DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. three-speed high-torque impact driver (DCF860B)

    Most torque here: 2,500 in-lb*

    • Platform: DEWALT 20V MAX*
    • Max torque: 208 ft-lb*
    • Speed: 3,800 RPM*
  2. DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. three-speed impact driver (DCF845B)

    DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. three-speed impact driver (DCF845B)

    Three speeds, 1,825 in-lb*

    • Platform: DEWALT 20V MAX*
    • Max torque: 152 ft-lb*
    • Speed: 3,400 RPM*
  3. DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX 1/4 in. three-speed impact driver (DCF850B)

    DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX 1/4 in. three-speed impact driver (DCF850B)

    Short body, same 1,825 in-lb* as the DCF845B

    • Platform: DEWALT 20V MAX*
    • Max torque: 152 ft-lb*
    • Speed: 3,250 RPM*
  4. Milwaukee M18 FUEL 1/4 in. hex impact driver (2953-20)

    Milwaukee M18 FUEL 1/4 in. hex impact driver (2953-20)

    Fastest top speed here: 3,900 RPM*

    • Platform: Milwaukee M18*
    • Max torque: 167 ft-lb*
    • Speed: 3,900 RPM*
  5. Milwaukee M12 FUEL 1/4 in. hex impact driver (3453-20)

    Milwaukee M12 FUEL 1/4 in. hex impact driver (3453-20)

    Lightest maker-stated weight here: 2 lb*

    • Platform: Milwaukee M12*
    • Max torque: 125 ft-lb*
    • Speed: 3,600 RPM*
  6. CRAFTSMAN V20 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (CMCF800C1)

    CRAFTSMAN V20 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (CMCF800C1)

    Kit with battery: 1,460 in-lb*, 3,100 IPM*

    • Platform: CRAFTSMAN V20*
    • Max torque: 122 ft-lb*
    • Speed: 2,800 RPM*
  7. DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (DCF787D1)

    DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (DCF787D1)

    DEWALT kit with battery and charger

    • Platform: 20V MAX
    • Brushless motor: Yes
    • Weight: 4.4 lb

Figures are as stated in each product's current Amazon listing; * from the maker's own spec page (see Sources). Yes or No: whether the listing or maker names the feature.

On this page

What we compared and why

  1. Platform. An impact driver sold as a tool only runs on batteries you already own. Stay on your platform unless the tool you need does not exist there.
  2. Maximum torque. Torque decides how large a screw or lag bolt the driver turns without stalling. Makers state it in in-lb; the table converts to ft-lb (12 in-lb = 1 ft-lb). Compare it across impact drivers only, never against a drill.
  3. Top speed and impacts per minute. Top speed (RPM) is how fast the bit spins with no load; impacts per minute (IPM) is how often the hammer strikes once the screw resists. Both affect driving speed; neither is a measure of torque.
  4. Weight and size. An impact driver is often used overhead or at arm's length. Where the maker states a weight we show it; listing weights may include a battery or packaging.
  5. Kit or tool only. A tool-only model has no battery or charger. If you own none, a kit is how you get them.

The models compared

ModelPlatformMax torqueSpeedImpacts per minuteBrushless motorSold asWeightAmazon link
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. three-speed high-torque impact driver (DCF860B)DEWALT 20V MAX*208 ft-lb*3,800 RPM*Not stated in listingYes*Tool only*2.7 lbSee on Amazon
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. three-speed impact driver (DCF845B)DEWALT 20V MAX*152 ft-lb*3,400 RPM*Not stated in listingYes*Tool only*2.1 lbSee on Amazon
DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX 1/4 in. three-speed impact driver (DCF850B)DEWALT 20V MAX*152 ft-lb*3,250 RPM*Not stated in listingYes*Tool only*2.2 lbSee on Amazon
Milwaukee M18 FUEL 1/4 in. hex impact driver (2953-20)Milwaukee M18*167 ft-lb*3,900 RPM*Not stated in listingYes*Tool only2.2 lb*See on Amazon
Milwaukee M12 FUEL 1/4 in. hex impact driver (3453-20)Milwaukee M12*125 ft-lb*3,600 RPM*Not stated in listingYes*Tool only2.0 lb*See on Amazon
CRAFTSMAN V20 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (CMCF800C1)CRAFTSMAN V20*122 ft-lb*2,800 RPM*3,100 IPM*No*Kit or not stated*2.5 lbSee on Amazon
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (DCF787D1)20V MAXNot stated in listingNot stated in listingNot stated in listingYesNot stated in listing4.4 lbSee on Amazon

Read at this page's build and converted to one unit by us; sources as in the key above. "Not stated in listing": the listing does not give it. "Listing gives two values": it states two, so we show neither.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. three-speed high-torque impact driver (DCF860B)

DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. three-speed high-torque impact driver (DCF860B)

Who it fits: DEWALT owners driving lag bolts and long structural screws; DEWALT gives it 2,500 in-lb and calls it its highest-torque impact driver.

Skip it if: Your jobs are cabinets, drywall and furniture; that torque is more than those screws need and is easy to overdrive with.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. three-speed impact driver (DCF845B)

DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 in. three-speed impact driver (DCF845B)

Who it fits: DEWALT owners who want a three-speed brushless driver for deck screws and general work; DEWALT gives 1,825 in-lb and 3,400 RPM.

Skip it if: You have no DEWALT batteries; this is a tool only.

DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX 1/4 in. three-speed impact driver (DCF850B)

DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX 1/4 in. three-speed impact driver (DCF850B)

Who it fits: DEWALT owners working in tight spaces; DEWALT states under 4 in. front to back with the same 1,825 in-lb as the DCF845B.

Skip it if: Top speed matters more to you than length; DEWALT gives it 3,250 RPM, below the DCF845B's figure.

Milwaukee M18 FUEL 1/4 in. hex impact driver (2953-20)

Milwaukee M18 FUEL 1/4 in. hex impact driver (2953-20)

Who it fits: M18 owners who want high torque and top speed from one tool; Milwaukee lists 2,000 in-lb, 3,900 RPM and 2.2 lb.

Skip it if: You have no M18 batteries; this is sold as a tool only per the listing.

Milwaukee M12 FUEL 1/4 in. hex impact driver (3453-20)

Milwaukee M12 FUEL 1/4 in. hex impact driver (3453-20)

Who it fits: M12 owners, or anyone who works overhead and wants a lighter, shorter tool; Milwaukee lists 1,500 in-lb, up to 3,600 RPM, 2 lb and 5 in. long.

Skip it if: You drive many large lag bolts; the M18 and the high-torque DEWALT state more torque.

CRAFTSMAN V20 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (CMCF800C1)

CRAFTSMAN V20 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (CMCF800C1)

Who it fits: A first impact driver with a battery and charger in the box; CRAFTSMAN lists 1,460 in-lb, 2,800 RPM and 3,100 IPM.

Skip it if: You want a brushless motor; CRAFTSMAN lists this one as brushed.

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (DCF787D1)

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4 in. impact driver kit with battery and charger (DCF787D1)

Who it fits: A first DEWALT impact driver with a 2Ah battery, a charger and a belt hook in the box, per the listing.

Skip it if: You already own DEWALT batteries; a tool-only model avoids paying for another battery and charger.

How to read impact driver figures

Makers publish three performance figures for an impact driver: maximum torque, top speed and impacts per minute. Torque is the one listings lead with, and the one most often overrated. It tells you how large a fastener the driver can turn before it stalls, not how fast it drives an ordinary screw, and it is measured by each maker its own way. Read the torque column as "enough or not enough for my largest fastener", not as a ranking. This page is research-based, from the makers' pages and the current listings; we have not run these drivers against each other.

Torque, converted

Every maker here states torque in in-lb. The table converts to ft-lb by dividing by 12 and rounding, so you can compare them with the impact wrenches and ratchets elsewhere on this site.

Model Maker's figure Our conversion
DEWALT DCF860B 2,500 in-lb About 208 ft-lb
Milwaukee 2953-20 2,000 in-lb About 167 ft-lb
DEWALT DCF845B and DCF850B 1,825 in-lb About 152 ft-lb
Milwaukee 3453-20 1,500 in-lb 125 ft-lb
CRAFTSMAN CMCF800 1,460 in-lb About 122 ft-lb

The DCF860B's 2,500 in-lb is 37 percent more than the DCF845B's 1,825 in-lb. That gap matters if you drive long lag bolts into framing every week. For decking screws, cabinets and furniture, every driver here has more torque than the screw needs, and the lower settings of a three-speed driver are what keep you from snapping heads or sinking screws too deep. Our torque units page explains in-lb and ft-lb in more detail.

Torque for the weight: M12 against M18

Milwaukee is the one maker here that states weights for both of its drivers, so we can do the arithmetic. The M18 2953-20: 2,000 in-lb on 2.2 lb, about 909 in-lb per pound. The M12 3453-20: 1,500 in-lb on 2 lb, 750 in-lb per pound. The M18 gives more torque for each pound you hold; the M12 gives the lower total weight, plus a body Milwaukee states at 5 in. long. Over a day of overhead work, those few ounces count; for a few lag bolts they do not. Milwaukee does not say on either page whether the weight includes a battery, and M12 and M18 batteries differ in size, so check the figure with the battery you will fit before you rely on the gap. Choosing between the two Milwaukee systems in general is covered on Milwaukee M12 or M18.

DEWALT's pages for its three drivers, as we read them, state no weight. The weight column shows the listing's figure for those rows, which may include packaging; treat it as approximate.

Speed and impacts per minute

Top speed is no-load spin: how fast the bit turns before it meets resistance. Once the screw resists, the hammer mechanism starts and the impacts-per-minute figure takes over. Only CRAFTSMAN states an IPM figure on the pages we read, 3,100 for the CMCF800. Within one maker, a higher top speed generally means faster driving of small and medium screws; across makers, measurement methods differ, so treat a few hundred RPM as a tie.

A decision rule

  1. Own batteries already? Pick from your platform: DEWALT 20V MAX (DCF860B, DCF845B, DCF850B), Milwaukee M18 (2953-20), Milwaukee M12 (3453-20).
  2. No batteries yet? Pick a kit: the CRAFTSMAN CMCF800C1 or the DEWALT DCF787D1. If you will want a drill too, a two-tool kit is usually the simpler start; see cordless combo kits compared.
  3. Largest fastener a long lag bolt into framing, often? Favour the higher torque rows. Mostly cabinets, decks and furniture? Favour a three-speed model or a lighter, shorter one.

Not sure an impact driver is the tool you need? See drill or impact driver.

Reading the table

A figure with a mark comes from the maker's page for that model, linked under Sources; the torque cells are our conversion of the maker's in-lb figure. Other cells are from the current listing. The DCF787D1 row is listing-only: we could not read a DEWALT page for that kit. "Sold as: Tool only" means the maker or listing says no battery or charger is included.

What this page does not tell you

We have not used these drivers against each other, and we do not rank them. We do not measure real driving speed, runtime, noise or durability. For fastener sizes and pilot holes, follow the fastener maker's instructions.

Sources